• To improve security, we will soon start forcing password resets for any account that uses a weak password on the next login. If you have a weak password or a defunct email, please update it now to prevent future disruption.

Ren'Py Free Roam using UI (Minimap)

Jun 21, 2020
Edit. Solution (or at least one approach to it):
=========

Ok, so first of all let me clarify: I am new to renpy, but not to python. So I mostly have trouble with the renpy side of the code.

Having said that: what I want is to create a minimap of a house that allows the user to click on a room of that house and display the image of that room (meaning the user traveled there). Now the good news is that I managed to pull that off with a little help of renpy documentation (and mostly python code).
Here's the main code, where I call the minimap, and whatever it returns (when I click on a minimap room it returns the name of a location and) its room image appears.
Python:
$ game_running = True

while game_running:
    python: # this is just validation that gets the room name used in the image url
        location_img_string = location.lower()
        location_img_string = location_img_string.replace("'s", "")
        location_img_string = location_img_string.replace(" ", "_")

if renpy.has_image(location_url_string, exact=True):
        show expression location_url_string # shows the room image using that validate string

$ location = renpy.call_screen("minimap") # and here I call the screen with the minimap (an image with imagebuttons that each return a string containing the room name)
The problem arises now that I want to create yet another way of moving: a room selector (basically two arrows pointing left and right that change the current room)
Python:
$ location = renpy.call_screen("room_selector") # this obviously doesn't work