can i use unreal engine render in renpy games

Blueshadow14

Oct 7, 2020
well i'm new in this so i want to know can we use renders made by using unreal engine in ren'py project, do we have to pay royalties to the epic. i have heard that UE is faster then BLENDER and less time consuming and better rendering quality. i want to know about it please help me.

tightbuns

Game Developer
Aug 27, 2019
as an indie you only have to pay epic if you make a game using their engine, and even then, only after you cross 1mil in revenue. BUT, you're not doing that (making a game on their engine).
You're rendering in unreal engine and using the images/animations in ren'py. So no, you'll never have to pay them anything even if you go over a million in revenue.

Last edited:
Reactions: Blueshadow14

Blueshadow14

Oct 7, 2020
as an indie you only have to pay epic if you make a game using their engine, and even then, only after you cross 1mil in revenue. BUT, you're not doing that.
You're rendering in unreal engine and using the images/animations in ren'py. So no, you'll never have to pay them anything even if you go over a million in revenue.
thanks a lot for answer.

Reactions: tightbuns

witcher234

Dec 20, 2020
well i'm new in this so i want to know can we use renders made by using unreal engine in ren'py project, do we have to pay royalties to the epic. i have heard that UE is faster then BLENDER and less time consuming and better rendering quality. i want to know about it please help me.
Quality isnt better than blender. but its good enough for renpy games. I myself is trying to do it using dazmodels. But problem with UE4 is always animations and when using morphs seems to disoreint char.

MissFortune

I Was Once, Possibly, Maybe, Perhaps… A Harem King
Respected User
Game Developer
Aug 17, 2019