Ren'Py Using Integers vs Flags

DarthSeduction

Lord of Passion
Donor
Game Developer
Dec 28, 2017
So, I'm writing my first novel, mostly because I find many of the ones I've played to be lacking in depth. That said, I'm new to coding, I learned a little C++ in high school, but that is now over a decade old, and I understand a only a little bit about python (which I already like more than C++). My main questions as the Title suggests, is what do you guys in the community think of integer based affection tracking vs using simple flags and if statements to determine if relationship content becomes available?

I know for my part, that I find affection tracking systems to be grindy, they kinda take me out of the game, relationships are far too complicated for a basic point system. The system in DMD seems to have been the best I've played with thus far, but it creates an environment wherein every move has to be completely perfect in order to advance at pace. Also, I don't want the sexual content in this game to be the end, I want it to explore the relationships with more depth. Is it just sex, are we dating, are we in a closed or open relationship, what does that mean.

In my experience most games that use points fail here, DMD, changes the entire dynamic from being a blossoming romance between two people who shouldn't have those feelings into one where a father is taking advantage of the sexual confusion he's creating in his daughter. When I play it I feel obliged to decline the advances of any other characters. But that's not to say that games with flags are that much better.