VN Ren'Py To Hell & Back I: Mr. Brooks [deadbeatstudios][Development Thread]

deadbeatval

Mar 1, 2024
thabf95_banner.png

Hi. I pretty often go by Val in real life. Hence my username here.

After years of playing VNs, I finally decided to start making my own (after some urging and plenty of advice from another dev). But instead of doing a long, continuous story like many VNs, I figured it'd make better use of my frankly too-little time doing short, episodic stories. Which leads to this dev thread. So, a little about me is that I'm a photographer/videographer by trade. I've worked with several studio since I was a teenager before starting a decently successful production studio with a longtime friend of mine. I'm quite familiar with motion graphics, and sometime in 2019, I started venturing into 3D to see what could be done with motion graphics on the recommendation of another friend. Which led me down a rabbit hole, from Blender to Daz, and then Daz ultimately led to this niche little space (or maybe not so little?) via renders I saw of Summer's Gone. The raw cinematic appeal of Summer's Gone was something else. It was like seeing a snippet from a movie in the format of a comic, which was something I didn't know existed.

I have a decent grasp of 3D via professional workspaces, but I'd say my real strength lies in my understanding of lighting. I can pick out how a lot of things are done, and how they might be transferrable to a software like Daz or Blender. Perhaps that gives me a leg up coming into this vs other newer developers, or maybe it doesn't. I don't really know. But anyways, that's enough about me.