Ren'Py There is any if condition like [if not]?

Xenorav

Game Developer
Sep 30, 2020
what I mean is if there is any way to create an if condition like for example:

$ example = "example1"

if example (are not) "example2":
jump example3

sorry if it's a stupid question, I'm new to renpy / python.

Loomenaro

Oct 5, 2018
I haven't used renpy, but if it is just python either

if example != "example2":
or
if not example == "example2":
should work.

• Red Heart
Reactions: Xenorav

cooperdk

Engaged Member
Jul 23, 2017
It is Python, but Renpy only uses v2.7 as far as I remember. They have dropped development and support for it (and it is not safe to use anymore!).

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Respected User
Donor
Jun 10, 2017
It is Python, but Renpy only uses v2.7 as far as I remember.
Ren'py is switching to 3.x but obviously it need time.

They have dropped development and support for it (and it is not safe to use anymore!).
It's a language, the security threats aren't this numerous and rarely related to the language itself ; among the 23 advisories edited for Python 2.7, less than 10% effectively affected Ren'py.
Anyway the simple fact to play a Ren'py game represent more risks than the now lack of security support for Python 2.7.

cooperdk

Engaged Member
Jul 23, 2017
Ren'py is switching to 3.x but obviously it need time.

It's a language, the security threats aren't this numerous and rarely related to the language itself ; among the 23 advisories edited for Python 2.7, less than 10% effectively affected Ren'py.
Anyway the simple fact to play a Ren'py game represent more risks than the now lack of security support for Python 2.7.
It needs time ... but Python 3 was introduced twelve years ago! Even Python 3.5 is five years old.

There are vast differences from 2.7 to 3, including much higher speed, better runtime compilation and I don't even know where to begin...