Tool Others TAD Extractor

Jul 8, 2018
What is a TAD file?

So far I haven't been able to figure out which engine is responsible for storing their files in TAD formatting.
I made this script to extract data from the TAD files in this game.

What makes up a TAD file?

The header of the TAD uses 0x20 0x71 as a delimiter.

The first few bytes before the delimiter above tells us how many files there are in the TAD file.
The following bytes separated by the delimiter corresponds to the filesize (in bytes) for each of the files in the TAD file.
The rest of the bytes in the TAD file are the binary contents of the files within the TAD file.

So this is the simplest TAD file:
Code:
Files | Delimiter | Size | Delimiter | Data
0x31  | 0x20 0x71 | 0x30 | 0x20 0x71 | 0x00
Updates and Source Code

and any updates and issues should be posted on there.

Last edited:

YukiSoul

Jul 11, 2018
i dont understand how to use it, can you explain it? (i have no experience using github compiler)

Reactions: Lazro
Jul 8, 2018
i dont understand how to use it, can you explain it? (i have no experience using github compiler)
There are two attachments, one for Linux and one for Windows. There are already precompiled binaries in those attachments alongside the source code used to compile them. The build instructions are pretty simple if you wanted to compile it yourself on either platform:

Linux/macOS/BSD
  1. Install gcc (or any other C/C++ compiler for your platform), make, and cmake.
  2. Create a new folder in the sources called "build" and enter that directory.
  3. Run
    Code:
    cmake ../ && make
    to compile the sources

Windows
  1. Install Microsoft Visual Studio (I used Visual Studio 2015 for the binary in the attachment) and cmake for Windows
  2. Open the cmake GUI and point to the folder with the source code and then make a new folder called "build"
  3. Select the newly created build directory as the location where you'll build the binaries.