Looking for help with how to create a particular variable in Twine Sugarcube.

Tigger254

Jan 27, 2018
Hello everyone

I am new to Twine and not well up on programming, i have managed to find sources of information on how to create other variables and such but i cannot find any source of information about how to create the type of variable(or maybe conditional) for what i want to do.

Thanks in advance.

HiEv

Sep 1, 2017
Nobody is going to be able to help you if you don't describe what you want to do.

That said, I'd recommend reading through the to see if that helps (you can also download the latest version of SugarCube from there). Also, SugarCube is largely based on JavaScript, so if you know how to do it in JavaScript, then you likely already know how to do it in SugarCube.

If that doesn't help, there's also the where you can ask for help (don't forget to put the Twine and SugarCube versions you're using in the tags there). Make sure you explain exactly what you're looking for.

Hope that helps! :)

Tigger254

Jan 27, 2018
The variable or conditional that i am trying to achieve is where i use one variable to set a random number say between 1 & 10 and then have each number with an outcome to either modify another variable or give a passage link which will be determined by the variable setting the number randomly, something like a RAGS conditional where it is if variable is 1 do an action, if it is 2 do a different action and so on.

Hope i have managed to explain what i am after well enough.:oops:

I will also try and register on the Twine Q&A site.:)

Epadder

Programmer
Game Developer
Oct 25, 2016
Now I'm not a Twine expert... but as I've been picking through Adam and Gaia, I recognize some things from general programing paradigms.
Code:
<<set $Var to random(1, 10)>>
<<if $Var is 1>>
      <<goto "Some Passage">>
<<elif $Var is 2>>
     <<set $OtherVar to somevalue>>