VN Ren'Py Learn to Win [Development Thread]

BigPipeGames

Jan 10, 2023
Learn to win bannerjpg.jpg

Hey guys and girls, starting this thread mainly as a journal of my process of learning and developing my first visual novel. I have no experience whatsoever with any of these tools and am learning as I go. I thought it'd be good for me to do this to keep myself on track and could be interesting for others to see how I progress through various stages of creation/learning. Up to this point I've been learning the basics of HS2 Studio Neo, created a bunch of different characters, conceived a good amount of the main story and written around half of the script for episode one.

Introduction
Learn to Win is a slice of life visual novel. You play an MC who will experience a tough setback in life and experience his journey to rebuilding, while meeting (and having fun with) a lot of hot girls along the way!

Gameplay
The game will follow a pretty standard and simple route of choices leading to gaining (or not) various points with the girls. These points will unlock new dialogue, open or close sex scenes, potential endings, and also change the flavour of sex scenes based on the players choices (think love/corruption/domination etc). I do not plan on implementing much if any sandbox/free roam elements as this is all new to me, but I won't rule it out completely. If it does get added later it will certainly not be grindy or particularly time consuming.

Characters
The following is a list of most of the characters that I have created so far, I have left one or two out as not to spoil some interesting things that will happen in episode one.

MC
MC.png

The protagonist of our story. A confident, funny and friendly guy who's just taken a bit of a licking. Time to get back on your feet.

Mike
Mike.png
Mike is the MC's best friend since high-school. He works as a lawyer and enjoys good banter.

Rachel
Rachel.png