• To improve security, we will soon start forcing password resets for any account that uses a weak password on the next login. If you have a weak password or a defunct email, please update it now to prevent future disruption.

RPGM Just started, what kind of mistakes do people make with there first game?

a_soda

Sep 12, 2016
Hey Fellow Adult Gamers!
I have always loved playing adult games and thought why not start making something myself, I have tried before to set up a team but it has never worked out.
I have RPG Maker, MV to be precise and I have started working on a game, it is in really early stages. I am an artist and animator so I got the art part covered.

I kind of just wanna ask what is some stuff is easy to miss in the beginning or mistake that people do? The first thing I could think of was people usually make the game to big, which is why I have decided to make a smaller game to start with. Only two main characters and some background characters.

Quick summer of the game:
You wake up on an island, this island is only populated by monster and rejected races. After a lot of problems, you fall over a Half-Dark elf.
You decided to help her with her problems, cuz you don't really have anything else to do and most other things and people want to kill you.
A small game about you and the Half-Dark elf going though the Islands hardship and might discover more about it and yourself... or just kill and
fuck things, that's cool too.

Thank you for your time! <3
~ Have a great day ~
A_soda

Morgan42

Oct 9, 2019
Overly complex puzzles. If you're going to make a game on RPG maker, I recommend you check out Treasures of Nadia. Most of his puzzles are very simple and obvious fetch quests and his actual puzzles are fairly simple. I think that's the best route to go. Also, his in game help feature is both sexy and very helpful although I'm sure it was a pain in the ass to program.

Reactions: Ghostbull

about_it

Game Developer
Aug 7, 2020