Indoor lighting question

Vinyard

Game Developer
Dec 16, 2019
Hello, first post here. Working on releasing my first game, still working on the intro, but i seem to have a problem with indoor lighting.

Every interior asset i use is dictating the kind of lighting i have to work with. For bathrooms, it doesnt seem to be an issue since the lighting is usually bright and i can get excellent renders on those but most of the living rooms have temperature bulbs that give me a grainy, somewhat dark render. For some rooms that have larger windows, it does help alot to get exterior lighting in.

I'v tried a couple of games here and i'm really trying to avoid the type of lighting that looks like a studio set(very bright). I also noticed some games remove the roof to let exterior lighting in but that limits the options for camera angles. I did read some answers here about using planes but i'm really new to using Daz or even Coding for that matter, working my way through tutorials and such as im going along.

I also tried adding spotlights but the glare is either too bright or too dim and the shadows are too strong . If there is a ready asset that can be bought from the Daz store or found here, i'd be grateful for any information or a simple workaround for a beginner.

My PC is not exactly built for rendering but i'm using intel 5-7600k @3.8Ghz with 32 GB ram and a GTX 1070

Thank You for any responses!

MissFortune

I Was Once, Possibly, Maybe, Perhaps… A Harem King
Respected User
Game Developer
Aug 17, 2019
HDRI's through windows are your friend, for sure. That said, there's multiple avenues to getting good/decent indoor lighting. It's still a bitch regardless.