Tool HTML General Guide to Game Development (and Twine/Sugarcube)

OnTopOfMyAnger

Apr 3, 2018
General Guide to Game Development (and Twine/Sugarcube)
What is this guide?
This guide is here to help you get started working on any game you are thinking about, mainly focusing on Twine 2.0 games using the Sugarcube story format.
However many of these tips can be used for any other game engine; like Ren'Py, QSP or Unity.

Why am I writing this?
I studied game design and I would like to see higher quality games from my fellow forum users.
I would have liked to see something like this while I was trying to bruteforce my way to write a Twine game with very basic Twine/Sugarcube knowledge.
I am working on a game right now and want to share my research.
I hope this helps people.
I hope you make great games. I believe in you. <3

What can you find in this Guide?
How to prepare for creating a game.
How to design a game from the ground up.
How to work efficiently.
Basics of basic coding. I am not a good coder, yet.
How to use certain tools and websites and why you should use them.
Asset Management: How to prepare images, textures and videos for games.
Tips for Sugarcube and Twine.

Step 1: Prepare

You don't have permission to view the spoiler content. Log in or register now.
Step 2: Game Design (Yes, you need to write down your design before you code anything.)

Step 3: Starting to Code

Step 4: Managing Assets(Videos, Audio and Images)

Step 5: All that Remains

If you made it this far, I ask you to comment your opinions and suggestions.
Correct my mistakes.
Thank you for your time.
OTOMA.

Last edited:

_retorik_

Game Developer
Aug 21, 2018
Nice guide. Just wanted to add LogSeq as a replacemant to Obsidian.

I've spent a good chunk of time searching for softwares to manage my game lore and the way LogSeq connects and organizes information was much more natural to me.

PTSdev

Oct 21, 2019