Tool Ren'Py Are you interested in a tool that could help you develop a renpy game?

midel

Oct 9, 2017
Hello, I'm not a new member on this forum, but it's my first post :)
Recently, after work (I'm a full time developer) I came up with the idea of creating a tool to help develop games based on the renpy engine.
I thought of such functionalities as:
- add characters, images, transitions, character positions, sound, music and story via GUI
- manual edit game scripts with syntax highlighting
- view story flowchart
- live preview actual scene
- possibility to convert different types of pictures to webp (which often reduces image size)
- possibility to convert different types of sounds/music with cut feature

The main purpose of this tool wouldn't be to replace programming, but to support the game developer and increase the pace of the game development in general.
This tool would be written in python 3.x and would be using GUI framework (maybe Qt?)

What are you thinking about that tool?
Would be demand for it?
Are there any additional features that you would want in this tool?

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Respected User
Donor
Jun 10, 2017
- manual edit game scripts with syntax highlighting
What would be the improvement in regard of using, by example, Atoms with the Ren'py highlight file made by PyTom himself ?

- view story flowchart
Would it works with called labels and dynamic label names, like by example jump expression "{}_blowjob".format( girlName ) ?
Would a game like Super Powered, that almost never jump, and have all its call based on the dynamic structure show above, works with this feature ?

- live preview actual scene
What would be the advantage in comparison to opening the console and typing jump LABEL_OF_ACTUAL_SCENE, then using a combination of rollback and shift + R to see the impact of the changes made ?

- possibility to convert different types of pictures to webp (which often reduces image size)