VN Ren'Py A new dev and the concept for the first game

kengen

Sep 10, 2017
So, to start this rant with words that you veterans have heard before... This is going to be my first ever game!

About me:
Although i'm really a newbie when it comes to creating a VN (or a computer game) i've played different pen-and-paper roleplaying games for over 30 years, so i have at least basics of the knowledge of creating a story. One of the main reasons for me to start on this journey as a game dev, derives from my career change, changing it from nursing (indifferent fact in this game or post) to study computer sciences focused on game developing, i do have some experience in coding that i decided to as a hobby, luckily one the languages in Python, so i decided to use Ren'py. I'm also a gaming nerd, having played a tons of different ones, including many many games from the site (it's like a fanboy thing to even post here 'cause some of my "dev idols" might read this) and many non-lewd games. Part of learning to develop games is something that i can get credit for my studies, so i'm invested in this project.

I also have (had) zero experience using Daz3D for renders, have been learning from my mistakes and burning through tutorials at the moment and reading tips from the site. It's getting better, considering the fact that i'm no "artsy person"

About concept:
As a storyteller the story and the concept behind is what intriques me. Perhaps not an unique approach, i decided to place the game in dark fantasy world with some twists. There has to be some kind of MC for the story and i actually decided that my MC "dies" in prologue and his/hers corporeal body is gone, for the time being. The game will at the start follow the actions of MC's companions, with the MC communicating them from beyond corrupting them in the process.