1st Release TOO Big?

Mikethe3DGuy

Game Developer
Mar 14, 2019
I've been working on my (first) VN for a while, and I'm almost done creating all the content (still images, animations, sound files). Next step is choosing music, then Ren'Py coding.

I just reviewed all my content and I'm wondering if there are issues with total size. Here's the breakdown:

• 640 stills (1920x1080 png) - total 1.7GB
  • 3 animations (1920x1080 H.264 MP4) - total 94MB
  • 250 SFX & voice files (.ogg) - 50MB
Still need a few more voice files, and all music files, so that total will go up a bit. I'm worried that the total payload for the stills is high. Since I'm new to this I don't know if THAT is a problem. Also, is my filesize per image unusually large, or okay? Created them as PNGs - is that common, or just a dumb waste of space? Never actually thought about it tbh - just wanted high quality - but it looks like converting to JPGs might cut the payload down hugely. I'm not using transparency, so there may be no valid reason not to convert.

Comments?

c3p0

Forum Fanatic
Respected User
Nov 20, 2017
No, yes, maybe. It all depends on the game and the quality of it.
If you want shrink the file size, then use wepb (and not jpg). The size will only go up, even as I and others like me don't have a problem to download a few GB others will have.
Also different download site have different restrictions and for Mega, who is one of the popular ones, it is normal around 5 GB. So, from your initial size only a total of 3 release fits in that limit.

It is up to at the end of the day, but the size will some to avoid this - same case would be if the size was very small, because a very high compression.

As example Harem Hotel current size is around 10 GB with wepb. "Uncompress" PNGs and you would have around 90 GB.

Mikethe3DGuy

Game Developer
Mar 14, 2019
If you want shrink the file size, then use wepb (and not jpg).