Tool Unity Virt-a-mate (VAM) Performance Plugin/Patch - Early Alpha release

Playable2030

May 14, 2024
Hi,

I recently found VaM (and lots of addons), and noticed my performance dipped dramatically with lots of .var/addon files.
I found some time this weekend to try my handing at modding and improve the performance when there are a large # of addon files, and I think I have enough progress to share and give back.

Note:
I am not a DotNet developer, so there is a high-risk I broke something.
This is a very early release! I tried my best but expect issues.

Download:

Source code (GPLv3):

Installation Instructions:
1. Extract the contents of `VaM_PerformancePlugin.zip` to your Virt-a-mate folder.
2. Start VaM.

I'm interested in hearing if this improves performance (or if there are any issues).

Last edited:

Playable2030

May 14, 2024
I put up a public GitHub repo that is setup to automatically build new versions -

You can just replace the DLL in the OP.
One of the changes is a bug fix that had some patches disabled by default, so I would recommend using this DLL rather than the one included in the OP.

Playable2030

May 14, 2024
You should see a log file in your VaM folder under the BepInEx folder, i.e. VaM\BepInEx\LogOutput.log

You should see lines this:
Code:
[Info   :   BepInEx] Loading [VaM_PerformancePlugin 1.0.0]
[Info   :VaM_PerformancePlugin] Plugin VaM_PerformancePlugin is loaded!
You may not see improvements if you don't have a large # of addon packages, (2000+).

I'm still looking at other improvements I can make.
i.e. I see that VaM iterates overall skins/morphs/clothes/etc, so I think I can remove that part of the code via this mod.

Reactions: Vitalbond

VVSSDV

Dec 16, 2022
It's great to see someone working for the frame rate of VAM. But I tested three scenes and didn't see somthing changes, but I noticed that there seemed a bit higher frame rates with multiple characters, around 3 to 5 frames.I have over 6000 vars in VAM

May 19, 2022
Hi,