Your thoughts on game development

givemethattrt

Oct 2, 2019
Hello,

I have been a lurker since a while here and I have grown an increasing interest towards H-games in general.
Now, I am thinking on developing a game on my spare time and I would like to share with you my plan on that and maybe get your suggestions.

First, you should know that I am mainly a software developer. When it comes to design, I think I am not bad, but I am willing to learn. I used to draw lots of anime / manga back in the days. I also have some experience with c4d. As for other tools, I use photoshop very often and I have a good experience with it.

Anyways, let's get to my plan for the game:
  • Story: this is a crucial point. I like stories that involve self-questioning and philosophical questions (religions, mythologies, existence, etc.) coupled with actual scientific theories (dimensions, time, etc). One example of a visual novel I really liked (storywise) is stains' gate.
  • Game type: I am really undecided for this. I don't know if I should go with rpg or visual novel. But I think I will go with a mix (an rpg with long / visual novel-like scenes).
  • Game engine: I checked RPGMaker MV, ren'py, etc. However, I think I am going with a custom-made one. I don't plan on using anything too fancy (unity for instance). Using JS / PixiJS doesn't look too bad (given that the code base is well written). It would allow to easily make the game portable too.
  • Gameplay: I really need suggestions here. I am aiming for these functionalities:
    • Character customization: this will really depend on the type of art (see below), but it would be nice to have the possibility to customize some parts of the appearance (hair color, eyes, body parts, etc). This could be done more easily if using 2d art.
    • Full character stats / h stats: few games already do this. I think oneone1 games are among the games that provide the most complete stats.