VN Ren'Py Working on a game. When should I release?

Soft Whisper

Game Developer
Apr 9, 2023
My new VN's first release was around a 1,040 renders, which is around 2.5-3 hours of playtime, depending on your speed.
Wow, that's a lot! How long did that take you? I'd probably go insane creating that many renders without showing anyone my hard work. 200 renders took me roughly 3 months, but I guess the first month was just character creation and writing. Maybe that's a bit slow, but I'm still learning how to use Daz and Ren'Py.

Last edited:
Reactions: MissFortune

MissFortune

I Was Once, Possibly, Maybe, Perhaps… A Harem King
Respected User
Game Developer
Aug 17, 2019
Wow, that's a lot! How long did that take you? I'd probably go insane creating that many renders without showing anyone my hard work. 200 renders took me roughly 3 months, but I guess the first month was just character creation and writing.
8 or 9 months. Maybe a touch longer. You don't need that many to see a successful initial release, to be clear. But the more, the better in my experience. But the more important part, imo, is introducing the characters, story, and why the players should care about either. Assuming your VN is more story-based than a free for all fuckfest. If it's the latter, then it's probably less dependent on the story and more dependent on the quality of the sex scenes themselves.

Rafster

Bear chaser
Game Developer
Mar 23, 2019
Share it when you feel like it's ready to be shared. First impressions are literally everything in this space. This is the one time you aren't going to have pressure of a release date hanging over your neck, so pack as much as you feel you can in