• To improve security, we will soon start forcing password resets for any account that uses a weak password on the next login. If you have a weak password or a defunct email, please update it now to prevent future disruption.

Unreal Engine Workflow for Creating Levels (UE4, question from a Newb)

ABaaaadIdea

Aug 7, 2018
Hi all!

I've been putting off creating my mutant school for the gifted game because I'm at a ?fork? :
I wanted to know whether I'm about to run into major problems, given that I've never made a level before.

I've modeled the mansion's five floors from blueprints - but just the walls.
First Floor.png

Next I assume I need to insert windows, doors, stairs etc. Then texturing + smaller objects (water pipes, chairs etc).
I've been modeling in zbrush, blender and even sketchup for five years, so I've got a good base .. but am pretty sure I'm not doing *just the best* topology ... which I assume will cause problems later? Other than "don't make n-gons" and "use as few polys as possible" I don't think I'm aware of any other best practices :oops:
I also don't actually know how to insert windows, doors etc - I think there are some add-ons for Sketchup etc, and in a worst case I can edit walls to have the openings, but ... definitely a bit scared :eek:. Also, when I google tutorials I must not be using the best keywords because I see a lot of help for creating procedural/random levels.

Any advice is most welcome!
Thank you in advance ;)

Saki_Sliz

May 3, 2018
When I was doing a bit of hobbiest work, I would always try to make 1 unified, perfect, mesh.

The problem with this is then, the constant clean up when ever I wanted to modify or improve something.

for texturing reasons, I actually found it best to just keep the walls to them self, and each other object would be its own mesh that I would texture and paint. but thats not the best either.