Where To Start

BadWolf71

Jan 1, 2019
Greetings all!

So, I've been a supporter of Dark Cookie for a while now (I think over a year), and have recently started supporting others that are making games. Now I want to go out on a limb and try to get into the world of creating a game. I've been writing a story for well over 2 years now, I think, with a little bit of changes here and there, it would make for a decent plot line for a game.

With that being said, I have looked through this part of the Forum, Tools & Tutorials, and haven't found anything discussing what one would need to use for the scripting of the game. I'm assuming Ren'Py is what I would need to learn. I already have DAZ 3D to learn how to animate but, what else do I need to get and learn in order to make this idea into a game?

Thanks for everyone's time in reading this thread;

Bad Wolf

Winterfire

Forum Fanatic
Respected User
Game Developer
Sep 27, 2018
Since you have mentioned DAZ3D, I suppose you are going for a 3D Game.

With DAZ3D you can create a whole scene and render it to a PNG, for an animation it would be a series of PNG.
You should keep characters and scenes as separate renders for efficiency, there are many assets in this forum that you can try out and see if they fit what you are looking for.

DAZ3D and Paint/Photoshop/Similar is all you need for graphics, you already have a story so that's done as well.
The other thing you will be needing is Ren'Py and an IDE to actually make the game within Ren'Py... The program itself will suggest you some to download so that's not something you have to worry about.

I would suggest you to check:
Despite the tutorial being created on 2017, the episodes continue all the way to today, so it is a nice tutorial series to follow along.

BadWolf71

Jan 1, 2019
Thank you.