Unity Tales a visual Novel Engine (Development Thread)

Jan 19, 2022
Tales Engine
Tales Engine.png

Hi and welcome to my development thread on working on my custom VN Engine on top of Unity. Im not new to game development but new to the visual novel genre. I always had a thing for visual novels and decided it was time to get some experience in this genre. I also had a keen interest in DAZ, I have never used it before but should be relatively easy with all the guides available.

Some things to note before starting my choices and scope

1. This is not intended to be publicly released.
  2. This is not intended to be finished at all.
  3. This is something for me to learn (and most likely fail) from.

Engine choice
Well for me it was a very obvious choice I have been using Unity for over the span of 10 years. I still use it professionally on a daily basis. The hard part to decide was what kind of dependencies i would want to use and what is the general setup going to be.

Dialogs
The main thing that needs to be designed was a way to play dialogs in an easy way. One of my goals would be that you really don't need the Unity Editor anymore to write your game, also I would like the dialogs to be auto update-able with some kind of versioning (more on that later). Since building the VN Engine is a daunting task already, I decided to use as a base scripting language. It would need some extension to the extra stuff I have in mind.

1. Speaker tagging
  2. Sound effects tagging
  3. Custom clickable events that are based on hidden overlaid choices

Storage