• To improve security, we will soon start forcing password resets for any account that uses a weak password on the next login. If you have a weak password or a defunct email, please update it now to prevent future disruption.

Ren'Py [Solved] Updated graphics card...now Ren'py animations do not finish the loop [video included]

KevorkianPHD

Dec 4, 2017
[Solved] Did a fresh install of windows.....everything is fine now

Last month I installed my new NVIDIA 3080....upgraded from a 2080.

Ever since the upgrade all Ren'py games that I downloaded from F95zone have their animations stop working. The game will load fine, the video will start, i have audio....but then the video doesnt finish looping. It will "glitch" around 1/2 way or 2/3 way and then go back to the start of the animation.

I am not a developer, just a consumer. I know some coding and am talented with computers...so if there is a fix I can do that's fine....but I think this is something else.

Just for reference my unity games videos work just fine.

Also, all my drivers are up to date. And yes I have tried to force renderers.

:::: I have attached a video clip of what it looks like on my end :::::

Last edited:

LightmanP

Modder
Game Developer
Oct 5, 2020
I have this glitch once in a while too but without a GPU change. All videos play fine and then suddenly they stop after 1-2 seconds. What has helped me is going back to previous animations in the same game and running them, it magically fixes it. Don't know if that will be any help in your case, though.

Just a wild suggestion - try removing your saves folder (or persistent file) in the root of the game and in C:\Users\****\AppData\Roaming\RenPy

KevorkianPHD

Dec 4, 2017