Daz Saving models

smallparrot53

May 28, 2020
I have a question about Daz. Once I made models, how do I save them for future use? I mean, in which format and stuff? Or do I just save it as a scene or something?

JJsworld

Game Developer
Jun 17, 2018
I always save as a scene. You can always go back and load the character again and with the clothes...

Reactions: cynsynsin

smallparrot53

May 28, 2020
So you import it into new environment? Sorry about so many question, I started learning few days ago. I have to process lot of information. lol

xAsurax

Jul 21, 2017
if you just want to save a character than do this save character will be inside the save file preset in smart library.

hardwire666

Apr 12, 2018
You can also do File > Save As > Scene Subset. It's like saving a scene, just lets you choose exactly what gets saved.

I do this and then save any clothing as a wearable preset. Works pretty good. For me that is. As always results may very and so on and so forth, etcetera, etcetera, etcetera.

• Red Heart
Reactions: ABaaaadIdea

ABaaaadIdea

Aug 7, 2018
Agree with hardwire666 - I've got tons of characters half-finished etc, and I save multiple instances as sub-scenes so I can go back to early versions, combine characters together, or finalize and save out as presets once they're finished

TDoddery

Apr 28, 2020
As I understand it the main reason to do it is to save drive space.
If you have a scene with fit control and mesh grabber those files get pretty huge.
But if you get it wrong you lose content.
My solution was to buy a cheap 2Tb external hard drive and save it all over there.
Clunky and inelegant but I know I've still got it all.

mimininos

Oct 4, 2018