[RENPY] Modding Help

Oct 11, 2020
Hello, I'm quite new to ren'py and wondering what are the best tools to get started on editing the main game .rpy scripts. I currently have:

Unren.bat
Source Editor ( I'm using Visual Code with RENPY installed as a plugin; if there is maybe a better source editor I can use, please comment below which one).

I have extracted some modding sources to get an idea also, I'd love for some tips and extra comments from the community for me to start creating mods.

- Thank you.

Reactions: Echoooooo

felipons

Fluffy, The Destroyer of Worlds
Modder
Game Developer
Jan 15, 2018
Unren.bat
Source Editor ( I'm using Visual Code with RENPY installed as a plugin; if there is maybe a better source editor I can use, please comment below which one).
About tools that's pretty much it.
Haven't found any better than Visual Code, just make sure your VC and Renpy Plugin is updated (They corrected a bug with region collapse, that was collapsing extra white lines at the end of the method on renpy)

Some good information I can give you:

1 - Info I can give you is that you can't rewrite a label, but you can create a new label and substitute the old one by this new one.

E.g: Let's say you want to add a new icon to hud and the hud of the game in question is a "label" not a "screen", and the label is called "main_hud".
If you make a new label called "main_hud" you'll get an error saying that the label is duplicated.
To substitute the label you have to create a new one with a different name let's say "main_hud_mod", and then add the override definition to the old label like this.

Python:
    define config.label_overrides = {
        'main_hud': 'main_hud_mod'
    }
This way whenever "main_hud" is called it'll actually go to "main_hub_mod".

2 - Renpy obeys an order of execution, whenever you need to change a screen or something like that keep that in mind.
Generally I just add a "init 999:" and write anything within that block.