Ren'Py Tutorial Newbie guide to basic variables in RenPy

79flavors

Respected User
Jun 14, 2018
Newbie guide to basic variables in RenPy

RenPy is very flexible. Way more flexible than most of us will ever need.
But everyone has to start somewhere... and whilst the is great... it also tends to explain everything.
(though I will say, the " " section of the documentation is very good for a newbie like me).
Except, when you're just starting to write your first RenPy game... you don't need to know everything... just enough to get you started.

I hope that is what this guide does... explain "just" enough... about the basics of variables.
I am not a RenPy expert. If you're reading this guide for help... chances are I'm just a page and a half ahead of you in the manual.

So... onward...

At our level of programming, there are two "types" of variables.
Normal variables are saved by autosaves and saves, etc. And when you load your save game, their values are loaded too.
Static variables aren't saved. They aren't ever expected to change either. RenPy sets them each and every time your game runs.
For the pedants out there... Yes, I know "normal" and "static" aren't the real names. And yes, I know there are a lot more variations than just these two "types". But for the sake of an introduction... this is where I'm drawing the line.

The "$ {variable} = {value}" is an example of what I'm calling a normal variable. There are other ways to set them up, but $ is as good a way as any. More about the other ways later...
the "define a = Character("Angela")" would be an example of what I'm calling static variable. In this case, the variable would be "a".

RenPy has a strongly hinted at rule that static variables should never be changed by the code. They should be set once and left alone. You can change them, and examples I've seen do work. But the documentation says it isn't guaranteed to work and bad things might happen.