• To improve security, we will soon start forcing password resets for any account that uses a weak password on the next login. If you have a weak password or a defunct email, please update it now to prevent future disruption.

Ren'Py Need help for a simple clothing system / rememberin player choice.

Likextra

Mar 3, 2022
Hi guys !

Sorry for asking. Maybe there is already the answer somewhere but I don't find it on the web.
I'm trying to create a game on Renpy (this is my first try) and I'm a little trapped on this problem.

For my first chapter, the game leads all the decisions that the player can take. So it's really easy to code. In chapter two I want to let more possibilities so I would like the player can choose between different clothing for the main characters but also the other characters in the game.
I have, in my case, 4 png with one clothing each.
Outfit 1 = png 1
Outfit 2 =png 2
It's the same for all the characters in the game.

If the player chooses to wear Outfit 1 (png 1). I want to know how the game can remember this choice and each time the character shows on screen he is wearing outfit 1. Until of course, the player decides to change it. Actually, in my script, I'm manually making appear the png I want, but it can't work with player choice.

It's of course, I guess, the same process for the other characters when the player chooses the outfit he will wear it each time he appears on screen.

Sorry is it's not very precise but I hope it will be ok to read !

Thanks a lot and have a good day :)

Winterfire

Forum Fanatic
Respected User
Game Developer
Sep 27, 2018
You need to create an id for each outfit, in your Game Document Design or other notes you can easily access, then store that ID in a variable.

Python:
default pickedOutfit = "redRobes001"
You can then use this string to show scenes like so:

Python:
scene ".../playerJumping_" + pickedOutfit + ".webp"