VN Ren'Py Looking for feedback - First VN

Tanami_noon

Game Developer
Aug 3, 2023
Hello,
I've begun developing my first visual novel and released it on itch.io.

The game is centered around cheating. (Netorare/Netorase)

I'd like to ask several questions.
Would it be better to focus and develop one main route, or should I attempt to develop several routes instead?
Currently, there's no sound in my game. Should I prioritize working on the story, or should I implement sounds as soon as possible?
And which software should I use to implement sex sounds?

Finally, if you're curious and decide to play the current game, please let me know what I could improve .
Thanks!

Saint Blackmoor

Saint and Sinner
Donor
Oct 26, 2017
Hey Tanami_noon,

I started playing your game, and I thought it had potential.
I played as far as the day after the convention, so I don't have a full review.
My initial thought is to focus on the art and routes. I'm not an artist, but more variety in facial reactions would help a lot.
I'm probably telling you something you already know. :giggle:
I know from experience that F95 is a rough place for new devs or can be if you're not prepared. I suggest browsing the games that are similar to yours and getting an idea of what the members are saying. The major thing is clear and definite tags. Be clear upfront on what you want to do in the game, or make it clear you are open to suggestions.
The music is low in priority IMO but that's me. Ambient background sounds are the best. The sex sounds I don't know about.

I'm a proofreader here, and I did see some areas that could be improved, so hit me up if you'd like. :giggle:

Good luck.

Penumbral Evanescence

|☽◯☾| Somnium of the Night ✧ Bête Noire
Donor
Jul 16, 2021
Hello,
I've begun developing my first visual novel and released it on itch.io.

The game is centered around cheating. (Netorare/Netorase)

I'd like to ask several questions.