Ren'Py I'm creating my first visual novel, advices ?

Parsion

Jun 11, 2017
I don't want to tell you some about the content, because I want to release it on patreon.

Just a little presentation : I'm an art student in France, in 3rd year and half (two years and half to go yeaaah).

The first game I'm planning is based on linear story with basic choices.

It will be like you have two or three choices about an action, only one is true, and if you choose wrong, it's game over.

I want to learn so I don't take risks about something to much ambitious. Try to undestand that okay.

About the art : fully digital drawn by me. Currently now, I'm writing the raw script with dialogues and I'm drawing my storyboard. It will not be 3D art, but more like Summer Time Saga, fully drawn.

I'm planning to draw background of each rooms and places and draw each characters on .png files, to drag them on every background possible.

But I'm also planed to draw complete drawing for the sex scenes, no animations, but more like a sequential cut scene, like if you are reading a manga. I know animation sex scenes are better but like I said I don't want to be too much more ambitious. I'm doing this on my free time, I have 40 hours of art courses in my art school and I have between 10 and 15 hours of part time job EACH WEEK.

But soon, I will be in a company intership, that's mean no homeworks and much more free time, because I have only 5 hours of working in this company ahaha

So, I need advices about the story and art, I want to avoid the most hated clichés we saw in sex visual novels, I plan realistic body, with no huge boobies, more "natural" bodies for the characters, I don't know if you see what I mean.

About the gameplay, I already programmed the doodle to let the player choose his name, and I wrote the introduction, but with no images yet.

here is a 3-pages comic book I did for the school, I did it 6 months ago but it represents good enough how is my art style :