Tutorial How to optimise render times in iray (a small guide)

recreation

pure evil!
Respected User
Game Developer
Jun 10, 2018
How to optimise render times in iray (a small guide)

Lately I have seen a lot of questions regarding this topic, so I decided to make this small guide.
While I am by no means a pro and am sure that other people know more and better tricks, I'm going to share what I have learned over the time.
There are a few things that can drastically reduce render times if done right.
The guide is meant for rendering in iray.

Contents:

#1. General things.
#2. Importance of lights
#3. How geometry and texture affect the memory consumption
#4. Texture resolution.
#5. Reflectivity
#6. Tools

1. General things.
For the people who are completely new to DAZ:
Iray works best with nvida grafics card (cuda). More cuda cores mean faster rendering. Of course Iray CAN use the cpu, but it is way slower, no matter what cpu you have.
If you are rendering on cpu or just don't have the best hardware, this post is especially for you!

Before you start to create a scene, think about what you want to show and what you want to achieve with the scene. Don't just drop a quadrillion assets and figures in the scene, because every asset will add to the render time.
Less is more!
It's always a good idea to think about what you really need for a scene to look right and if you're not happy with the end result, you can always add more stuff later.

2. Importance of lights.
If you're using iray to render your scene you will quickly notice that your scenes will end up grainy or noisy. That's because iray needs light. A lot of light. This doesn't mean adding several light sources will make it better. The opposite is the case. Every light source generates shadows, rays and whatnot and needs to be computed, so in the end it will add to the render time if there are too many light sources.