Request Ren'Py How To Create Mods That Edit Text In Ren'Py

Potato

Oct 15, 2016
Now that Patreon is requesting developers to remove certain content from their games, it might be an idea for this community to edit certain things back in.

Are there people who can help/teach?

muttdoggy

Dogerator
Staff member
Aug 6, 2016
If the archive is in .rpa form, it needs to be extracted to .rpy - Then you can edit the .rpy with several programs like notepad++ and search keywords then replace those. Be careful that you don't change a line of script. However, it's usually never a problem to edit the conversations.
I use Sam's UnRen and/or RPA Extractor to pull the .rpy files from the .rpa archives. Then I use notepad++ to edit the .rpy files.
I'm the one who does the DogMod for LabRats and it is one of the few mods I've done. I'm not a programmer and that game is fairly easy to mod.

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Respected User
Donor
Jun 10, 2017
[...]Then you can edit the .rpy [...]
Why ? Why always use brute force to mod Ren'py games ? It come with so many features that you can do it softly, in a gentle way, making the engine orgasm under your touch while giving birth to the game you want.
Let your imagination go wild. Not only it will be less works in the end (since you'll not have to redo everything for each new version), but it also let the player use more than one mod.

Take this particular case. You'll have to change so many dialog lines directly in the source code, that every single file will be changed. So, when the player will try to use it with another mod for this game, one will revert the change made by the other...
So what ? No more DogMod ? Mandatory incest for DogMod ? Each time an "Incest DogMod" and an "IncestFree DogMod" ? And why if the (will clearly happen) "lab rats incest mod" don't change the sentences in the same way than DogMod will do it ?