Ren'Py First time game creator looking for help with coding!

Tarquinius

Jul 11, 2018
Hey there, thanks for clicking on this thread!
I'm new around here, but have been lurking a bit and trying to get some know-how.

I'm a digital artist with a passion for adult games, especially those of a somewhat sandboxy nature. I've decided to take my first step into actually making such games myself, and I believe I have the time, drive and passion to do so. What I don't currently have is coding knowledge.

I'm serious enough with all of this that I've allready created a great deal of art assets and written down scripts (not of the code-affiliated type) for key scenes. I have a roadmap written down for player progression, and pretty much know where I want this whole thing to end up eventually.
What I'm trying to say is this: I don't come on here asking for someone to do the work for me - I'm very eager to learn the basics of game development to be able to utilize this knowledge myself, and put in the hard work required to develop a small game.

What am I looking to create then? A simple dating sim in renpy. The game needn't have any fancy features or systems beyond that of what you would expect from any basic game of it's kind.
More specifically, I want my game to include the following things:
- A simple town/world-map
- A day/night cycle
- Money
- (prefarably) "quests", some sort of overarching guidelines for the player to proceed.
I realise these things could be hard to implement, especially for someone who is inexperienced with coding, but as I've allready said, I'm willing to put in the hard work if I simply knew where to start.
I would also like to eventually implement stuff like player stats and affinity scores for NPCs, but I figure it's better to not bite off more then I can chew to begin with.