RPGM Editing RPG Maker MV games

Jun 7, 2017
Isn't there a way to open up published games in RPG Maker MV to edit? I'm interested in trying my hand at translation, but the game I'd like to get into is an MV game, and I can't figure out how to open it. I have no experience with technical things like this, so I wouldn't know where to begin cracking it or if it even needs cracking. Anyone know if it's doable?

As far as I can tell it needs an .rpgmaker file to open a project in the editor. I've seen references to .json files around (some kind of encryption I guess) but the game I have has none.

Please excuse my noobishness, thanks :winkytongue:

Reactions: Shirouste

Symplexity

Aug 12, 2017
I too, am doing an RPG Maker MV game translation (My Secret Summer Vacation). Post the link to the game you're talking about and I can walk you through the specifics.

Or if that game has a 'www' folder, create a new project in RPG Maker MV then copy the contents of the 'www' folder into that new project.

Jun 7, 2017
I too, am doing an RPG Maker MV game translation (My Secret Summer Vacation). Post the link to the game you're talking about and I can walk you through the specifics.

Or if that game has a 'www' folder, create a new project in RPG Maker MV then copy the contents of the 'www' folder into that new project.
There is no www folder. I'm really getting the vibe that they didn't want this game edited, but too fuckin bad lol.

It looks like a god. damn. masterpiece but I refuse to play a game with so much unreadable text. You really lose a lot of the experience, ya know?

Any assistance is appreciated :p

Jun 7, 2017
The game files have .wolf RPG extension so this might help:

That's...fucking weird. I would have sworn on my blood that it was an MV game, but you're right that it uses .wolf files. It didn't even occur to me to try that, thanks! I'll let you know of my success or failure.

You rock! :firstimekiss:

Reactions: Symplexity
Jun 7, 2017