Tutorial Dev Practices 101

Obsidion69

Jun 16, 2018
So it's the new year and I decided I should probably finally contribute something to this forum besides the occasional amusing rambling. As such here is a general guide to good development practices for the less experienced/untrained dev. Oh and in case anyone wonders why they should listen to this guide I have a degree in software development with a programming emphasis so yes I know what I'm talking about. Now onto the guide, yes it will be a little long winded.

Concept Development

Not my area of expertise but I do have 3 solid pieces of advice here:

1. Make the game you want to play.
This is something any good game dev will tell you. This brings passion to your work meaning the quality of your product and the odds of finishing it will increase. Search through the abandoned titles and you'll find examples of whiny first project devs who chose their concept elements just cause they were popular only to abandon their projects after a couple months cause they weren't getting the huge donations they felt they deserved.

2. Strive for originality but don't sweat it too much.
Having a unique product is great for setting you apart but as the old saying goes "there are no new ideas anymore, just new takes on existing ones". The idea that you're ever going to have a completely original product is a fantasy more elusive than even the most elaborate harem ending so just accept it's not gonna happen. Also keep in mind that just cause you're doing the same thing as someone else doesn't mean you won't do it better.

3. Once you have a concept you're happy with DO NOT JUMP STRAIGHT TO PRODUCTION, PLAN YOUR SHIT OUT.
This is a big problem with untrained devs cause they don't realize all the work that should be done before the first line of code is ever written cause they think "well I've got my idea and I've picked an engine so I'm good to go"; no you're not which leads us to the next topic.

Pre-development Planning