Daz3D GPU issue

Oppai Auteur

Developer of Old Friends and Public Transport
Game Developer
Mar 26, 2018
I posted this question in my own game's thread but haven't had any luck so far, so I hope someone here has an answer

Advanced warning, total noob at this stuff

I recently got a new custom built pc with a GeForce GTX 1050ti. I got this because it was advised if you want to do iray renders to have a nvidia card(my old machine had a dated AMD card) and the 1050ti was the most I could afford at the time.

The problem I'm having is that Daz3D always goes back to using just the CPU to render, no matter what I try the GPU shows no usage at all

When rendering with just the CPU I'm getting about 3+ hours render times, but from what I here GPU render times can be much shorter

Here is an example of the kind of render I'm working on. I dont know if how complex the image is can be a factor in this

MSJhome A3.jpg

Kaffekop

Game Developer
Jul 23, 2017
Hi

First off go to your render settings and hit the "advanced" tab. There you make sure, that your GPU is ticked off and that your CPU is not.
After this, you need to realize something about Iray. If you want ton make use of you GPU, then you need to pay attention to the size of the scene. If the scene can't fit into the Vram on your GPU, then Iray will revert to CPU rendering - no matter what you have ticked off in the "advanced" tab.

Hope this helps you out and good luck.

Cheers - Kaffekop

Oppai Auteur

Game Developer
Mar 26, 2018
Hi

First off go to your render settings and hit the "advanced" tab. There you make sure, that your GPU is ticked off and that your CPU is not.
After this, you need to realize something about Iray. If you want ton make use of you GPU, then you need to pay attention to the size of the scene. If the scene can't fit into the Vram on your GPU, then Iray will revert to CPU rendering - no matter what you have ticked off in the "advanced" tab.

Hope this helps you out and good luck.