VN Ren'Py Creating my own characters for a visual novel

Varxen

Jun 17, 2017
Hi! I am a noob! >< so please bear with me!

I'm trying to create an adult visual novel. I tried to use honey select to create my own characters (pictures and scenes and stuff) along with Unity 3D for the environment. However, I am new to these stuff. I have zero knowledge on coding (but I am willing to learn that) though I am learning while I do. However, I have no knowledge on how to navigate Honey Select (taking screenshots, making poses...). Also, I am unsure on how to fuse the environments I have created using Unity 3D with my characters (as Honey Select lacks environments).

TLDR: I do not know how to screenshot Honey Select pictures/characters/poses. I also do not know how to fuse the environments created using Unity 3D with those of Honey Select (if I can even make screenshots of them lol).

PS: If anyone has any reccomendations regarding creating my own VN (I'm doing this all by myself haha but I already have a drafted storyline and character backgrounds) I am open to receiving them! Any reccomendations for engines/programmes I should use are also welcome! :))

Winterfire

Forum Fanatic
Respected User
Game Developer
Sep 27, 2018
Do yourself a favor and use Ren'Py.

1. <- Discussion with link to the mod you are looking for.

^
Some other random discussions cos I do not have honey select so I can't suggest anything, try and test around, see what works for you.

Now, as to "fuse" them, you do not.
You could but that would not be very efficient, you should keep characters and backgrounds separate so they can be reused.
(Same background .png, different characters over it, for instance).

On Ren'Py this concept is really easy to see, just give a look at the demo that comes with it, read/watch a few tutorials and use the demo as a starting point but with your characters/background/text, good luck.

-Edit-
Woops, misread.