Considering developing a new visual novel/3d animation engine

tanstaafl

Oct 29, 2018
I've been between projects for a while and, as I am not a game developer, I've been considering building a new visual novel engine instead to provide those who do make games with a more advanced and easier platform to present their work. The reason I first started to kick this idea around was several blue screens when using games/stories developed with the RenPy engine and a predisposition to dislike Unity games (though admittedly, Unity results depend entirely upon level of skill when utilizing it.)

The first phase of the project would be to present a platform in which one could:
  • Create a visual novel with branching story lines with no coding experience, just drop in the text and images/animations.
  • Fully customize the GUI
  • Easily compile for any platform (PC/Mac/Mobile)
  • Extensible game features utilizing a plugin platform in which developers can pick and choose features (mods) from a central location and simply drop them into the project. (These mods can be developed and submitted by anyone, tested by me or other selected, and approved for safety.)
  • POTENTIALLY: Create novels/games directly through a web interface

About me a bit, since I suspect a bit of healthy skepticism from people reading this: I've been a software developer for going on fifteen years. I've worked on projects for Bank of America, Express Scripts, Liberty Mutual, and the like over that time. I'm currently developing LMS (Learnign Management Systems) as a day job. And I get bored and like to have my own projects going whenever possible.

But before I dedicate this kind of time and energy I would like to know if anyone would be interested in this new engine?

Reactions: Muramasa0
U

User_920791